The DRI Foundation Scholarship Award


The deadline for DRI Foundation Scholarship applications was Friday, April 29, 2016. The winners will be announced on June 15, 2016

The DRI Foundation scholarship is made possible in part by DRI Canada.

Download the Application

High school seniors
The 2016 scholarship application period is now closed. 

College undergraduates
The 2016 scholarship application period is now closed.

The DRI Foundation believes that educating our youth about the importance of disaster preparedness today is key to guaranteeing a more resilient community in the future. Last year we awarded our first-ever DRI Foundation Scholarship. Made possible through donations from DRI and DRI Canada, the DRI Foundation Scholarship is the result of our commitment to education. In addition to providing information about academic performance and volunteer activities, scholarship applicants are asked to write an essay on a topic of interest to our profession.

We expanded in 2016 to offer two scholarships. The two scholarships are open to all high school seniors and college undergrads in the U.S. and Canada whose parent or legal guardian is a DRI Certified Professional. Each scholarship is $5,000, and payment will be made in the form of a check awarded to the scholarship recipient.

In order to be eligible for the scholarship, the applicant or the applicant’s parent or legal guardian must be a DRI International Certified Professional in good standing and the applicant must be enrolled in a 4-year undergraduate program. The applicant must reside within the United States or Canada.

2015 Winner

Tyler Newsom, son of DRI International MBCP David Newsom, was the winner. Tyler’s essay not only demonstrated an understanding of preparedness, he proposed a program of how to incorporate preparedness education and training into schools from kindergarten through high school. Tyler was selected in part because of the strength of his essay on incorporating preparedness education and training into schools. Check out our 2015 Annual Review for the winning essay by last years winner, Tyler Newsom (pages 12-15).

2016 Judges

Jim Noble
Vice President Global Risk Manager – Retired

Carol L. Hodnett
United Way Vice President
Community Impact and Martin Volunteers

Rosemary Hartofilis
Adjunct Professor
St.John’s University

David Newsom
Global Manager